August 2016

 photo shallows-trailer-blake-lively-2016_zpsrngdkh5o.jpg

August was a lovely month for my movie-watching. Of the 20 films I watched, I at the very liked 15, and found a few things to admire in the rest that I didn’t. I guess I could have watched more things, but reading did take a bit of my time this month.

Top 10

  1. Kubo and the Two Strings (Travis Knight, 2016)
  2. The Blair Witch Project (Daniel Myrick & Eduardo Sanches, 1999)
  3. April and the Extraordinary World (Frank Ekinci & Christian Desmares, 2016)
  4. The Shallows (Jaume Collet-Serra, 2016)
  5. Sing Street (John Carney, 2016)
  6. Pete’s Dragon (David Lowery, 2016)
  7. The Joy Luck Club (Wayne Wang, 1993)
  8. My Cousin Vinny (Jonathan Lynn, 1992)
  9. Eye in the Sky (Gavin Hood, 2016)
  10. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 (Sanaa Hamri, 2008)

Best Re-watch: Over the Garden Wall

The Worst: Batman: The Killing Joke

Multi-Media Honorable Mentions:

“Supergirl: Season 1” for being such a lovely and warm remedy for when you’re feeling blue, despite the fact that it can be unbearably corny and cliched.

Issues 41-60 of “Chew” by John Layman and Rob Guillori for being so hilarious, emotionally powerful, and bad-ass. I hate that I have to wait close to a year to read the last 10 issues in my preferred format, but I also don’t want it to end.

“The Hike” by Drew Magary for not letting me put it down by giving me a great fantasy thriller that made me reflect on existence.

Superlatives:

Best Director: Travis Knight, Kubo and the Two Strings

Best Actor: Collin Farrell, The Lobster | Mark Rylance, The BFG

Best Actress: Blake Lively, The Shallows | Heather Donahue, The Blair Witch Project

Best Supporting Actor: Jack Reynor, Sing Street

Best Supporting Actress: Marisa Tomei, My Cousin Vinny

Best Screenplay: Kubo and the Two Strings | The Joy Luck Club

Best Cinematography: Kubo and the Two Strings | The BFG | Pete’s Dragon | The Shallows

Best Costume Design: Kubo and the Two Strings | The BFG | Sing Street

Best Production Design: April and the Extraordinary World | Kubo and the Two Strings | The BFG

Best Music: Kubo and the Two Strings | Sing Street | The Joy Luck Club

Leave a Reply

