April 2016

 photo phantasm_zpsoqw77eoj.jpg

This month I only managed to watch 14 films, mainly because I watched the five seasons of Justice League, the last season of Gilmore Girls, and a few episodes of Animaniacs. I wish I could say that I spent all my remaining time watching great films, but of course it wasn’t to be. I only watched two films that I loved, two that I liked a lot, and the rest were mostly just fine (with the exception of two that were trash).

So, yeah, let’s go on with the show

Top 10

  1. Bowfinger (Frank  Oz, 1999)
  2. James White (Josh Mond, 2015)
  3. Batman: Mask of the Phantasm (Bruce Timm&  Erik Radoski, 1993)
  4. Life (Anton Corbijn, 2015)
  5. Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Steven Spielberg, 1989)
  6. Justice League Vs. Teen Titans (Sam Liu, 2016)
  7. Sisters (Jason Moore, 2015)
  8. The Night Before (Jonathan Levine, 2015)
  9. Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (Steven Spielberg, 1984)
  10. In the Heart of the Sea (Ron Howard, 2015)

Best Re-watch: Song of the Sea, Avatar

The Worst: Daddy’s Home, Concussion

Honorable Mention: “Star Crossed (Parts I-III),” “Flashpoint,” “Panic in the Sky,” and “Divided We Fall” from Justice League | “Unto the Breach” and “Bon Voyage” from Gilmore Girls

Superlatives

Best Director: Josh Mond, James White

Best Actor: Christopher Abbot, James White | Tom Hardy, Legend | Dane DeHaan, Life

Best Actress: Amy Poehler & Tina Fey, Sisters (slim pickings this month)

Best Supporting Actor: Michael Shannon, The Night Before | Bobby Moynighan, Sisters

Best Supporting Actress: Cynthia Nixon, James White | Christine Baranski, Bowfinger

Best Screenplay: Bowfinger

Best Cinematography: James White

Best Costumes: Legend

Best Production Design: Legend | Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom

Best Music: Batman: Mask of the Phantasm

See all of my rankings for the month on Letterboxd

One thought on “April 2016

  1. I didn’t think Concussion was bad. It definitely wasn’t what I was expecting, but I still found it enjoyably decent.

    Oh, and with Animaniacs, we should have sing-off competition. I’ll start with Yakko’s World.

Leave a Reply

