The Cinematic Highlights of August 2015


This month, due to a surprisingly large amount of work hours, videogames, making the mistake of getting into comic books, and TV shows (finally finished Cowboy Bebop and started rewatching Dragon Ball Z), I only managed to see 10 film for the first time. Well, there was that and the fact that I cancelled my Netflix account (for selfish reasons) so I couldn’t just browse and find something to fit my mood, which only left me with my unwatched Criterions, and I have to prepare emotionally for a lot of those. I also wanted to watch all the 1939 Best Picture nominees, but that didn’t work out since I have to get a bunch of them from the local library, and for some reason, a lot of people chose to watch them at the same time as me. But it was an okay month overall. I finally watched my most anticipated film of 2015 and it exceeded my expectations. Then there were a few good ones, a couple of okay ones, and only one downright stinker. So, this month I’ll just go ahead and list them all.

Top 10

  1. Shaun the Sheep Movie (Mark Burton & Richard Starzack, 2015)
  2. Tokyo Drifter (Seijun Suzuki, 1966)
  3. Spy (Paul Feig, 2015)
  4. Dark Victory (Edmond Golding, 1939)
  5. Pitch Perfect 2 (Elizabeth Banks, 2015)
  6. Batman: The Dark Knight Returns (Jay Oliva, 2013)
  7. Cowboy Bebop: The Movie (Shinichiro Watanabe, 2001)
  8. The Water Diviner (Russell Crowe, 2015)
  9. Batman: Year One (Sam Liu & Lauren Montgomery, 2011)
  10. Home (Tim Johnson, 2015)

Superlatives

(I hesitated doing this because I saw so few things, but why not)

Best Director: Seijun Suzuki, Tokyo Drifter | Mark Burton & Richard Starzack, Shaun the Sheep Movie

Best Actor: um… Peter Weller, Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, I guess

Best Actress: Melissa McCarthy, Spy

Best Supporting Actor: um… Bryan Cranston, Batman: Year One, I guess

Best Supporting Actress: Rose Byrne, Spy

Best Screenplay: Shaun the Sheep Movie

Best Cinematography: Tokyo Drifter

Best Costume Design: Pitch Perfect 2

Best Production Design: The Water Diviner

Best Music: Shaun the Sheep Movie

Leave a Reply

