The Cinematic Highlights of January 2015

The_Guest40

We start off every year with the hope that no matter what how good the previous year had been, that the new one will be better. Those were certainly my hopes since I ended my year in an all-time low, both personally and in terms of the movies I watched. Alas, things were not to be as things were even worse at a personal level, which took away any desire to watch new movies. In the end I only watched 10 films for the first time, with only seven of them being good enough that they would get even a slight recommendation.

With that sid, it’s not like I spent the whole month wallowing and watching nothing else. I watched and very much loved about 13 episodes of Gilmore Girls. My biggest cinematic pleasure of the month, however, was my rematch of Avatar: The Last Air Bender in its entirety. I loved it even more than the first time. Though it’s not flawless, it remains a perfect visual experience. The four-part finale remains one of the finest examples of action filmmaking.

So yeah, back to the films. Like last month I’ll jut o ahead and list them all.

  1. Nightbreed: Director’s Cut (Clive Barker, 1990)
  2. Time Bandits (Terry Gilliam, 1981)
  3. Boyhood (Richard Linklater, 2014)
  4. The Guest(Adam Wingard, 2014)
  5. The Book of Life (Jorge R. Gutiérrez, 2014)
  6. Dumb and Dumber (Peter and Bob Farrelly, 1994)
  7. Jersey Boys (Clint Eastwood, 2014)
  8. Tammy (Ben Falcone, 2014)
  9. The Maze Runner (Wes Ball, 2014)
  10. Into the Woods (Some Talentless Hack who surrounded himself with a talented cast an crew, 2014)

This month I’ll skip the superlatives, but I’ll say that Richard Linklater and Patricia Arquette are very much worthy of all the awards they have gotten in the last few months; Nightbreed is a tremendous achievement in production design, make up, and atmosphere; and The Guest is one of the great technical achievements of 2014.

Leave a Reply

