The Cinematic Highlights of June 2014

 photo JuneHeader_zps7b8363e9.jpg
This month I only had 16 first time viewings. It’s the most I’ve viewed in a single month since January, but it’s still lower than I wish. However, I did watch a whole lot of other things. I re-watched all the Harry Potter films, most of Wes Anderson’s films (including The Grand Budapest Hotel), and films that would be getting sequels soon. I also spent a lot of time watching TV shows. In the entirety of the month, I went through the first season of True Detective, the second season of Orange is the New Black, a few episodes of MTV’s Faking It, about half of the first season of Hannibal, and I’ve been making my way through the first blu-ray set of Ranma 1/2. So, had I not devoted so much time to TV, I probably would have watched a few more films.

Like last month, I’m not gonna do a full top 10, but I’m just going to list the worthy ones, in addition to the other goodies.

Top 10

  1. The Virgin Suicides (Sofia Coppola, 1999)
  2. 22 Jump Street (Phil Lord & Chris Miller, 2014)
  3. The Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet (Jean-Pierre Jeunet, 2014)
  4. Duck Soup (Leo McCarey, 1933)
  5. How to Train Your Dragon 2 (Dean DeBlois, 2014)
  6. Edge of Tomorrow (Doug Liman, 2014)
  7. G.B.F. (Darren Stein, 2013)

Best Re-watch: The Grand Budapest Hotel | The LEGO Movie | Rise of the Planet of the Apes

The Worst: Labor Day

Superlatives

Best Director: Sofia Coppola, The Virgin Suicides | Phil Lord & Chris Miller, 22 Jump Street

Best Actor: Channing Tatum, 22 Jump Street | Michael J. Willet, G.B.F.

Best Actress: Emily Blunt, Edge of Tomorrow | Kate Winslet, Labor Day

Best Supporting Actor: Ice Cube, 22 Jump Street

Best Supporting Actress: Bette Davis, The Watcher in the Woods

Best Screenplay: 22 Jump Street

Best Cinematography: The Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet | The Virgin Suicides | Tootsie

Best Costume Design: 22 Jump Street | The Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet | G.B.F.

Best Production Design: The Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet | The Virgin Suicides

Best Music: G.B.F.

For complete rankings of the films I saw this month, go to Letterboxd.

Leave a Reply

