The Cinematic Highlights of February 2014

This wasn’t the best films for movie-watching that I’ve had. Due to a surprisingly huge amount of school work and other personal issues, I was only able to watch 14 films in total (10 first-timers, 4 rewatches), I guess I could have watched more films since I also watched the last eight episodes of American Horror Story: Coven, Downton Abbey: Season Four, and five episodes of the new season of House of Cards. For these same reason, I was not able to devote any time to writing my weekly mini-reviews. Even so, I liked most of the films I saw, and even the ones I didn’t like weren’t too bad. So, this time around, I’ll only do a top 5, and the usual shenanigans.

Top 5

1. The Lego Movie (Phil Lord & Christopher Miller, 2014)

2. Nebraska (Alexander Payne, 2013)

3. The Apartment (Billy Wilder, 1960)

4. Song of the South (Harve Foster & Wilfred Jackson, 1946)

5. Parenthood (Ron Howard, 1989)

The Superlatives

Best Director: Phil Lord & Christopher Miller, The Lego Movie | Billy Wilder, The Apartment

Best Actor: James Baskett, Song of the South | Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Best Actress: Judi Dench, Philomena | Shirley MacLaine, The Apartment

Best Supporting Actor: Will Arnett, The Lego Movie

Best Supporting Actress: June Squibb, Nebraska

Best Screenplay: The Apartment

Best Cinematography: The Apartment

Best Costume Design: Song of the South

Best Production Design: The Lego Movie | Song of the South

Best Music:  The Lego Movie | Song of the South

And this month, I sign off with dancing Queenie

See my complete rankings on Letterboxd

One thought on “The Cinematic Highlights of February 2014

Leave a Reply

