July 2013- Best & Worst

 photo maxresdefault_zps334f5c89.jpg

Since in this month I celebrate my birthday and it’s the last month before I have to start thinking about school again, I wanted to break the record of number of films seen by me in a single month, which was 30. Things started out fine, with me catching the brilliant anime miniseries “Kids on the Slope”, a couple of Pedro Almodovar films (All About My Mother and Talk to Her), my first Satoshi Kon film (Tokyo Godfathers), and the seminal ’80s classic The Princess Bride, within the first week. But then two things happened: 1) family issues that affected my viewings schedule and the types of films that I could watch and 2) “Orange is the New Black.”

There was nothing that I could do about the former but the latter, despite the fact that I only managed to watch seven episodes of it within the month, just took over my mind completely. Even so I still managed to make some room for films and other stuff. For example, I watched two ’80s movies presented and heavily influenced by Steven Spielberg: The Goonies and Young Sherlock Holmes. The former was glorious, and the latter, eh, not so much. I also watched the controversial Best Picture-winner Shakespeare in Love and it’s fine film, but a greater technical achievement that does not deserve to be called “Best Picture” by any person or association. One film that does deserve many “Best…” accolades is Christopher Guest’s Best in Show. I had a bit of a hard time with it at first, but in the last act, I was in pain from all the laughs. There was also my third Ernst Lubitsch films this year, Design for Living, which I’ve been craving to see for a while, and while lovely, it still can’t touch Ninotchka as his best from the three I’ve seen.

Speaking of long-delayed viewings, there were two very much talked-about television events from last year that I’ve only now been able to watch: Game Change and the first season of “The Legend of Korra.” The former was super hammy and at times laughably bad despite having great work from Julianne Moore, Woody Harrelson, and Sarah Paulson. The latter started out rough simply because it’s a completely different beast than “Avatar: The Last Airbender.” However, by the end it was amazing. I mean it wasn’t “Avatar: TLA” amazing, but still “some of the stuff on television” amazing.

In theaters I only managed to watch Pacific Rim and The Conjuring. They were both fun and technically marvelous, but they also lacked a bit of oomph to get them to a near-greatness level.

Anyways, here are my top ten first-time viewings (plus awards) for July 2013:

Top 10

  1. “Kids on the Slope” (Shinichiro Watanabe, 2012)
  2. Tokyo Godfathers (Satoshi Kon, 2003)
  3. “The Legend of Korra- Book 1: Air” (Joaquim Dos Santos, Ki Hyun Ryu, 2012)
  4. Best in Show (Christopher Guest, 2000)
  5. The Goonies (Richard Donner, 1985)
  6. Design for Living (Ernst Lubitsch, 1933)
  7. All About My Mother (Pedro Almodovar, 1999)
  8. Pacific Rim (Guillermo Del Toro, 2013)
  9. Talk to Her (Pedro Almodovar, 2002)
  10. The Princess Bride (Rob Reiner, 1987)

Best Re-watch: Collateral (Michael Mann, 2004)

Honorable Mention: “Orange is the New Black” (episodes 1- 7)

The Worst: Game Change

Superlatives

Best Director: Christopher Guest, Best in Show

Best Actor: Joseph Fiennes, Shakespeare in Love

Best Actress: Cecilia Roth, All About My Mother

Best Supporting Actor: Mandy Patinkin, The Princess Bride

Best Supporting Actress: Antonia San Juan, All About My Mother

Best Screenplay: Talk to Her

Best Cinematography: All About My Mother

Best Costume Design: Shakespeare in Love & Frida

Best Production Design: Frida

Best Music: Shakespeare in Love

See the list of all of this month’s first-time viewings (minus TV) over at Letterboxd

And I’ll close this with some pretty things from this months films
 photo 001035-r1preview_zps8b656790.jpg

 photo bride_zpsb163e8fa.jpg

 photo fridak_zps2a7da64f.jpg

 photo hr_Pacific_Rim_80_zps470f62ad.jpg

 photo 800__shakespeare_in_love_blu-ray_2__zps94947ad7.jpg

2 thoughts on “July 2013- Best & Worst

  1. My Top Five things (that you watched this month) from this post 1) Orange is the New Black, 2) Shakespeare in Love, 3) Princess Bride, 4) Pacific Rim and 5) The Legend of Korra

    Happy Birthday.

Leave a Reply

