June 2013- Best & Worst

 photo SE_zpsdd8ddade.jpg

The highlights of my first-time viewings for this month have to be the films in Richard Linklater’s Before… trilogy. I had heard about the first two for so long and could never find them in this city I live in so I finally decided to buy the DVDs in anticipation of Before Midnight, and they did not disappoint in the least. I also caught up with Summer Wars, an animated film that I had wanted to watch for a couple of years, but again, I had to pony up some money to buy it as my local library didn’t get it until recently. Lawrence of Arabia is another highlight, and while great, I feel like I missed something by not watching it on the big screen and therefore, I didn’t feel completely enthused about it (many will find its ranking on the list to be sacrilegious).

Theatrically, I watched a few of my most anticipated films of the year: Monsters University, The Bling Ring, and The Heat, and the three delivered on my relatively high expectations despite not being the most original in terms of story. Also, Man of Steel and This is the End, two of the films I feared watching the most surprised me quite a bit, with the former becoming my favorite superhero film of all time, and the latter being one of the most refreshing comedies in years.

I ended the month by watching one of Pedro Almodovar’s classics: Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown. I knew virtually nothing about it, and it was so beautiful and so damn fun.

Anyways, here’s are my top 10 first-time viewings for this month (well, 12) and some other fun stuff

Top 10

  1. Before Sunrise/ Before Sunset/ Before Midnight (Richard Linklater, 1995/2004/2013)
  2. Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown (Pedro Almodovar, 1988)
  3. The Bling Ring (Sofia Coppola, 2013)
  4. No (Pablo Larrain, 2013)
  5. Monsters University (Dan Scanlon, 2013)
  6. Man of Steel (Zack Snyder, 2013)
  7. The Heat (Paul Feig, 2013)
  8. This is the End (Evan Goldberg & Seth Rogen, 2013)
  9. Side Effects (Steven Soderbergh, 2013)
  10. Lawrence of Arabia (David Lean, 1962)

Best Re-watch: Lilo & Stitch

Notable Disappointment: Terms of Endearment

Worst: Parker & A Good Day to Die Hard

Superlatives

Best Director: Richard Linklater, Before Sunrise / Before Sunset / Before Midnight

Best Actor: Ethan Hawke, Before Sunrise / Before Sunset / Before Midnight

Best Actress: Julie Delpy, Before Sunrise / Before Sunset / Before Midnight

Best Supporting Actor: Omar Shariff, Lawrence of Arabia & Craig Robinson, This is the End

Best Supporting Actress: Julieta Serrano, Women on the Edge of a Nervous Breakdown & Emma Watson, The Bling Ring

Best Screenplay: Women on the Edge of a Nervous Breakdown

Best Cinematography: Lawrence of Arabia, Side Effects, No

Best Costume Design: The Bling Ring & Man of Steel

Best Production Design: Not Fade Away

Best Music: The Bling Ring, Not Fade Away, & Man of Steel

The entire list of this months first-time viewings is here

One thought on “June 2013- Best & Worst

  1. I can understand your placement for Lawrence of Arabia. I watched it years ago on DVD and wasn’t as taken with it as I wanted to be. Decided to catch that 4K release last year and was floored. I felt like I had seen a completely different film. The imagery was meant for a large screen.

Leave a Reply

