March 2013- Best & Worst

 photo joe_zpse8bc9148.jpg

This past March I decided that I wanted to watch some anime. However, since I know almost next to nothing about this particular form of animation, to get my fix I decided that I was going to catch up on the films from Studio Ghibli that I had not yet seen. I got through most of them, but I still have to watch My Neighbors the Yamadas and Only Yesterday. However, I got enough anime in a one-week stretch, so I think it will be a while before I get to them.

Besides that, I continued to catch up on the films of 2012 that I think I should see before I commit to wrapping up with year with my big article. Among these were Paul Thomas Anderson’s polarizing follow-up to There Will Be Blood, William Friedkin’s twisted but oh-so-fun second collaboration with playwright Tracy Letts, and the surprisingly awesome conclusion to one of the most hated franchises in recent memory. I also viewed my first three films from 2013.

I concluded my month by binging through the first two seasons of what is possibly the only critically acclaimed show MTV has right now. Since I spent about 12 hours with it, I’m gonna go ahead and included it here.

Here are my top 10 films (and TV shows) seen for the time in March of 2013. Once again, the list is followed by a few awards in some areas of cinema that I care for

The Best

1. “Awkward.” Seasons 1 and 2 (Created by Lauren Iungerich, 2011-2012)

2. Ocean Waves (Tomomi Mochizuki, 1993)

3. Kiki’s Delivery Service (Hayao Miyasaki, 1989)

4. Stoker (Chan-wook Park, 2013)

5. Porco Rosso (Hayao Miyasaki, 1992)

6. Killer Joe (William Friedkin, 2012)

7. Spring Breakers (Harmony Korine, 2013)

8. End of Watch (David Ayer, 2012)

9. Robot & Frank (Jake Schreier, 2012)

10. Searching for Sugar Man (Malik Bendjelloul, 2012)

Worth Mentioning: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 2 (Bill Condon, 2012) & The Master (Paul Thomas Anderson, 2012)

Best Rewatch: Spirited Away (Hayao Miyasaki, 2002)

Worst: Rise of the Guardians (Peter Ramsey, 2012)

Superlatives

Best Director: Chan-wook Park, Stoker

Best Actor: Jake Gyllenhaal & Michael Peña, End of Watch

Best Actress: Ashley Rickards, “Awkward.”

Best Supporting Actor: Matthew Goode, Stoker

Best Supporting Actress: Amy Adams, The Master

Best Screenplay(s): “Awkward.”

Best Cinematography: The Master, Stoker, & Spring Breakers

Best Costume Design: The Master & Stoker

Best Music: Spring Breakers & Stoker

So, that’s March 2013. This month, I sign off with some choice moments from “Awkward.”

tumblr_megyfnUMJC1roywnxo1_250 tumblr_mkdxifH5sR1s9vl78o1_250  tumblr_mkhi574F5I1s1c35fo1_250 tumblr_mkhiamWrxf1rfqu12o1_250tumblr_mkeqoe4kAl1r493dmo1_250

2 thoughts on “March 2013- Best & Worst

  1. I recently watched “Kiki’s Delivery Service” and absolutely love it!

    Did you really hate “Rise of the Guardians”? I haven’t seen it yet, but it’s the first Dreamworks Animation film that got me pumped and excited for!

Leave a Reply

