September 2012- Best & Worst

Just as I suspected, I watched less movies this past month than in August due to school being back in session. This month I only got to 14 first-time viewings, one of which really isn’t but I’m counting it since it was the first time seeing it properly. I imagine this is about the average number of films I’ll be watching from here on out assuming the load of school work doesn’t get any worse.

September was a month on which I caught up on some 2012 movies that I had wanted to see for a while. Most of them lived up to expectations, with one of them being my favorite film of the year so far. Also, I got to watch one of the biggest surprises of the year which I imagine will remain close to my top 10 of 2012.

What else? Well, I saw a Best Picture-winner which was wonderful for the first two acts then completely fell apart in the third (Gigi) and I saw my first Jerry Lewis comedy, which was fun but ultimately disappointing given the high praise (It’s Only Money).

So, since I only watched 14 films this month, I’ll only do a top five this time around.

The Best:

1. The Cabin in the Woods (Drew Goddard, 2012)

2. Damsels in Distress (Whit Stillman, 2012) & Pitch Perfect (Jason Moore, 2012) [Reviews coming eventually, I promise]

3. Raiders of the Lost Ark (Steven Spielberg, 1981)

4. We Bought a Zoo (Cameron Crowe, 2011)

5. The Five-Year Engagement (Nicholas Stroller, 2012)

Honorable Mention: “Doctor Who: The Angels Take Manhattan” for being one of the most thrilling and emotional hours in the show’s history.

Best Re-watch:

The Rescuers (John Luensbery/Wolfgang Reitherman/Art Stevens, 1977)

The Worst:

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (John Madden, 2012)

Leave a Reply

