D50: Robin Hood

You know that when a crooning rooster with a southern drawl introduces the story of Robin Hood and promises that he’s gonna tell you how it all really went down you are not in for a serious take on the story. I was ready to dislike it based on that this is not one of the Disney movies that are brought up when discussing the best movies the studio has produced. But truth be told, I actually found it clever that they would be retelling the story with animals as a parody, and in the end, it ended up being one of my favorite Disney’s so far.

If you’ve seen the movie, and have read my previous entries, then you might be wondering why I liked this movie, as it includes some of the things that I disliked the most in some movies, such as references to modern things when it is set in a different time period, cheap humor, etc. But like I said, the rooster in the beginning just let me know that this wasn’t going to take its self seriously, and therefore became less judgmental of what was going on . Afterall, in a parody, everything goes. And besides, it’s not like the football references, or Hiss using a balloon to propel himself and look for Robin, were out of place. They were used in scenes where they could have been used, and in the end they were not pointless.

Also, like any good parody, by the end the movie turned it turns into the type of movie that it is making fun of. In this case, the movie does turn serious at some point, when Prince John goes mad with power, and what follows is a thrilling third act that involves a great jailbreak and some cool action. Given what preceded that scene, I was not expecting it. In the end, it became, for me, one of the best Robin Hood adaptations.

As for everything else, there is nothing that truly stands out, but the mix of all elements are what made this movie so loveable. The animation is good enough, but I after Sleeping Beauty I’m having a hard time praising the animation of these lower-budget movies as “great”. It’s not bad, and in today’s animated world it would be a welcome change of pace, but given what came before it and what would come after, well, there was room for improvement. The cast is universally good, with another great Phil Harris performance. The music, I felt was appropriate despite the country-esque sound to it. And I must say, the music in this made me appreciate Wes Anderson’s effort in Fantastic Mr. Fox more. When I first heard the song “Love” in this movie I was like, “wait, I’ve heard this before,” and then I remembered that it was featured in Anderson’s movie and I was like “Oh, Wes, you sly fox, I see what you did there.”

So, yeah, it may not be considered one of Disney’s great classics, but it is now one of my favorites from the studio.

One thought on “D50: Robin Hood

Leave a Reply

