D50: Peter Pan

Peter Pan has always been one of my favorite stories. I its portrayal of how one must grow up, but not necessarily give up everything that made our childhoods such a great time. And yet, I had never seen a proper visual representation of it. I’ve never seen even a high school production of the play; I never saw the 2003 movie, nothing. Now that I have finally seen a movie based on J.M. Barrie’s play, I still feel as if I didn’t watch a proper representation of the story.

Now, it’s not terrible. The animation and the third act save it from being trash. But overall it felt pretty pointless. The first 20 minutes or so are a mess as they are trying way too hard to reel in the audience with silly comedy. Then there are the characters

Wendy comes across as too much of an annoying and pampered girl rather than a young girl walking the line between childhood and maturity. Peter Pan is kind of a dick and a psychopath. The way I saw it, Captain Hook was a happy pirate, but then out of nowhere, Peter cut of his hand and fed it to the crocodile, therefore turning Hook into a bitter man. Because of this, Hook is not as menacing as a villain should be. I actually felt sorry for him. And finally, the worst character of them all: Tinkerbell. What a bitch.

Also, what is with the portrayal of American Indians? I’m not usually that gets up in arms of portraying different races in certain manners (after all, I do love the ravens in Dumbo), but I actually felt offended, even though I’m not Native American.

I had truly hoped to enjoy Peter Pan more than I did. It’s not the worst Disney so far, but it could have been so much more.

 

One thought on “D50: Peter Pan

  1. I’m re-watching the Disney canon for my blog and I have to agree with you that “Peter Pan” didn’t meet up with the expectations that I had of it nor was it how I remembered it. I guess after watching “Cinderella” and “Alice in Wonderland”, “Peter Pan” felt like a downer.

    My favorite character was Mr. Darling, but we don’t see much of him. And the Native Americans didn’t offend me. I actually found them extremely cool!

Leave a Reply

