Review: The Blind Side

The Blind Side | John Lee Hancock, 2009

The moment I saw this trailer for this I thought “yup, this is going to be Sandra Bullock’s Oscar movie.” Since then the performance picked up steam due to an incredible box office run, but I still was not interested in this, which was odd because I’m a fan of Bullock’s. So, on February 2, the movie not only got her her Oscar nomination, but also a Best Picture nomination, so I just had to watch it. I finally did, and to be honest, the movie doesn’t rise above her performance, which is merely good.

The Blind Side tells story of how NFL football player Michael Oher (Quinton Aaron) made it to college. He was a homeless 16-year-old when a friend of his got him into a pretty much all-white Christina school. One day, the Tuohy family sees him walking the streets a cold night before Thanksgiving and they welcome him into their home and eventually adopt him and he makes it big, but not without some struggle.

I’ll just say this right now: I enjoyed the movie. The directing is weak, the writing is atrocious, but the story fullfils its duty in pleasing the audience (its target audience at least). Bullock’s performance is the best of the bunch, and since I have a weakness for her work, she made the movie for me. However, she doesn’t have much to do other than being sassy and speaking in a souther accent. It is a good performance, but not one that deserve to win an Oscar, especially the same year that Meryl Streep was nominated for Julie & Julia and Gabourey Sidibe gave a tremendous performance in Precious. The other performance that takes up most screen time is Aaron’s and he was not very good. I know the character was going through some tough stuff, but he played him as if he was crapping his pants all throughout the movie.

So, yeah, I enjoyed the movie, it was fun, and I’m glad a lot of people liked it, but a Best Picture nomination and a Best Actress win? I don’t think so.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Blind Side

  1. I really enjoyed your review and found myself particularly agreeing with what you said about the best picture nomination and even the best actress win. While Sandra was good, she didn’t totally blow me away.

  2. I agree with you totally but the film is way to smooth and lasking of conflict you know everything will turn out good in the end etc. the same goes for Bullock I am a big fan of hers and I am glad she won the academy award but she has done way better parts than this one.

Leave a Reply

