Review: Adam

Adam | Max Mayer, 2009

There are times when I just want to watch a light, heart-warming movie to relieve me from the pressures of the day. I do not expect originality, yet I want to watch a well made movie with a good script and a good message. Based on the ads, I thought Adam was going to be that kind of movie. Reviews were not kind to it, but they are never for this kind of movies. As I sat there watching these, I was amazed at how the critics were actually right and how bad I felt because of it.

Adam is the story of a 29-year-old man with Asperger’s Syndrome, played by Hugh Dancy, who lives alone in New York and is obsessed with space. One day Beth (Rose Byrne), a children’s books author, moves in to the same building, and catches the attention of Adam, and she is rather intrigued by him. So, things happen and they start going out despite the hardships that dating someone like Adam can bring. Then there are subplots about Beth’s father possibly going to jail, extra marital affairs, and racoons.

There are so many things wrong with this movie. The biggest one is the script. Although it tries to be a warm romance but in reality the way the character are written and the situations they are put in makes the story rather cold. Some of the situations are way too awkward for this type of movie and seem out of place. Also, some scenes feel like they are from heavy dramas, and that is not something that I expected here. Plus, the dialogue is horrible.

I guess that I should also blame the director. He could have made the movie rise above the crappy scenes but instead he adds to the over-dramatic feeling of it all. Also, he couldn’t get good performances out of his actors. Hugh Dancy is the only one who gives a passable performance, but even then, he still wasn’t very good. He tried, but I could still see he was just an actor acting. He never convinced me he was Adam. And Rose Byrne, I lover her but she is just awful in this. She seemed like she would just rather be plotting against Patty Hewes or something. Her line delivery was awful, she seemed uncomfortable, she was simply awful.

Adam is one of the worst movies of the year. It had it’s heart in the right place, but the production just did not live up to it’s potential.

Leave a Reply

