Review: Fantastic Mr. Fox

Fantastic Mr. Fox | Wes Anderson, 2009

In one of my write ups of the best movies of the decade, I took the time to single out Wes Anderson’s film out put this past decade because although they did not make the top 50, they affected me in some personal level due to his ability to take on a family’s situations, no matter what they are. At the same time, I mentioned that while I like his style, it was becoming stale due to the many copycats out there and that he should try something new. I had not seen Fantastic Mr. Fox then, I have to say that I am once more enamored with his style, and I still love how he tells stories about families.

Mr. Fox (George Clooney) is “middle aged” and has a job he doesn’t enjoy. He also has a loving wife (Meryl Streep) and a 12-year-old son (in fox years) named Ash (Jason Schwartzman). He is not happy with his life, so he decides to move his family to a dangerous location and to steal from the three meanest and baddest farmers in the whole world, which leads him to have to run from them because they won’t stop destroying things until he is dead. So now he must work with his underground friends to beat the humans and make sure his family survives.

Stop-motion animation and Wes Anderson were made for each other. Through this medium, Anderson was able to refresh his aesthetic style, and introduce himself to a new generation of movie watchers, meaning the few kids that actually saw and liked the movie.

Besides that, I could just praise it the same way I’ve praised every other Anderson movie: good script (probably his best one yet), great cinematography, art direction, costumes, music (Alexandre Desplat’s score is superb), and performances. I loved this movie.

Leave a Reply

