Short Reviews: Angels & Demons, Orphan

Angels & Demons | Ron Howard, 2009

I liked The DaVinci Code, so I was mildly interested in this one. I finally watched it and I will say that I was entertained. I found the plot to be interesting despite the fact that the screenplay sucked. Ron Howard, although he is not a visually interesting director, is able to make the best out of the crappy screenplay he is working with and manages to make an entertaining and sometimes thrilling movie. I do, however, question some of his casting choices because based on that I was able to know the twist just by looking at the cover of the DVD. Tom Hanks gives a better performance here than in DaVinci.

Orphan | Jaume Collet-Serra, 2009

I did not have any expectations for this based on the premise and the fact that it was not promoted that much. Plus, I already knew the twist and that one was one of the most ridiculous thing I had ever heard. However, it surprised me. It fun and thrilling and it has some good performances and a great one.

Vera Farmiga and Peter Saarsgard are good in their roles, but Isabelle Furhman steals the movie as Esther, the evil little girl that wants to ruin their family. She pretty much makes the movie rise above mediocrity and her performance makes eveyrything so much fun.

Leave a Reply

