Review: The Proposal

The Proposal | Anne Fletcher, 2009

Every once in a while I see a movie that has so many bad things that I know I should not like it, but I can’t help but enjoy it. Almost all Sandra Bullock romantic comedies that I’ve seen would fall into this category. For some reason I have a soft spot for Bullock’s romantic comedies. They have been there, providing laughs for as longs as I can remember, so I guess it is a nostalgia thing. Before The Proposal it had been a while since Bullock had done a romantic comedy, so yes I was anticipating her return, and although the movie is so flawed that I should have hated it, I did not.

The Proposal starts off as another “boss from hell” movie. Margaret Tate (Bullock) is an editor at a publishing company and everyone fears her. Among those is her assistant Andrew Paxton (Ryan Reynolds), who does absolutely everything for her in hopes to one day have his book published and become an editor. One day Margaret finds out that her work visa had been denied and would be deported to Canada, at that moment Andrew walks in and she decides to marry him only to prevent her deportation. So, right away they go to the Immigration offices to see what the next step will be. The Immigration officer does not buy their story but says he is going to look into it, in the mean time Andrew and Margaret must spend the weekend together in his hometown of Sitka, Alaska, and they will eventually learn that they have always loved each other.

As I have said there are a lot of things to hate about this movie. The biggest of them all is the story. How can we believe that these two people that have not cared for each other in the three years that they’ve been working together will fall in love over two days? And what was the deal with the Oscar Nunes character? And what about the guy that didn’t want to be on Oprah? They completely forgot about him after a while. Then there are the paper-thin characters, bad visual effects, and the horrible direction. However, because of Bullock, Reynolds, and Betty White I ended up enojoying it.

As I’ve said, I have a weakness for Bullock and her romantic comedies, so seeing her back in her element was great. Reynolds brings charm to everything he does, and him being one of two man-crushed I’ve ever had (the other being Nathan Fillion) helps his case. And Betty White, she is just great in the paper thin role of the grandma. They just bring so much more than what those characters deserve that they they elevate the movie to the point of enjoyment.

So yeah, I should not have like this movie but I did. One day Bullock will find a great romantic script and with the proper director it could be something to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

