Review: Transformers-Revenge of the Fallen


I loved the first Transformers. I grew up watching the television show, so I was highly anticipating seeing the robots I loved in a live action movie. Although I generally don’t like Michael Bay, I though he was one of the better choices to make this, only because he knows how to blow up stuff, and that was what I was expecting in a movie about alien robots. As for plot, it was thin, but it was something that you could make a 2 1/2 hour movie out of. It had enough humor and good performances from the cast. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (or ROTF from now on) is simply more of the same, but still manages to get worse.

First off, there’s the humor. There is so much dialogue that is supposed to be comedy relief, that it actually seems like a sex comedy. There are dog humping each other, robots with giant testicles, and an annoying robot humping Megan Fox. Then there are the twin robots, Wheelie and Skids. They are easily among the worse characters I’ve ever seen. I don’t see why people were complaining about Robert Downey Jr.’s performance in Tropic Thunder as being racist, but people love these characters. They are the most vile depictions of African-Americans in a while. This is what brings down the movie most for me, but then there are plenty more things that eventually got it its rating
Character development in this movie is pretty much non-existent. The closest thing we get to that is Megan Fox wanting to break up with Shia LaBeouf (see how I’m not using their character names, that is because they weren’t really acting this time around). The Josh Duhamel and Tyrese Gibson characters are reduced to cameo-like appearances where they are just cracking jokes.
The one thing you won’t hear me complaining about is the action. The action is great, and that is all Michael Bay seems to be good at doing.
It might seem pretty hypocritical of me to love the first Transformers, but then hate ROTF for the same reasons. However, one provided me with one of the best movie going experiences I’ve ever had, while the other made me ashamed of being there.
oneandhalf
Leave a Reply

